Skip to content

just a spoon full of sugar

February 8, 2009

As usual, this winter has taken it’s toll not only on my mood, but on my skin.  Every time I get out of the shower and take stock of my burgeoning wrinkles in the mirror, I am met with billions of tiny dry flakes where my skin should be.  What’s the make-doer to do?  Do we desperately buy up a barrage of products claiming to whisk away dry skin courtesy of almond shells, volcanic ash, or micro-diamonds?  No we do not, my friends.  We go to the kitchen, pour ourselves a shotglass of sugar, and commence scrubbing.

img_64691

This is something I picked up out of a magazine years ago, in some article about household beauty products- and it works like no other.  So here’s the way to go about some hard-core exfoliation:

  1. Lather up your face with a creamy cleanser, I like to use Almay Cleansing Milk, since there’s no drying soap effects.
  2. While all that wet lather is up on your grill, pour a tiny pile of sugar into your palms and stick it to your face.
  3. Scrub with your palms in circles all over, especially that flaky patch between your eyebrows or around your nose.
  4. Rinse everything off, and lay your peepers on your gorgeous pink baby-skin!

This is pretty effective, and free, but if you still have a few flakes here and there I’ve got one last step for you.

Lightly slather some face lotion right on the mutinous spots, then use a dry, rough washcloth to rub little circles on those areas.  Once you’ve buffed out the final flakes, rinse and then follow with some normal moisturizing.  It’s gentler than it sounds, which is nice since you’ll feel a little bit raw from the first scrubbing. I saw this in a magazine once too, from some beauty editor’s secret stash of tricks.

Well that’s all I’ve got for now, it’s been a long night of ebay editing, and I’ve been ignoring Matt for long enough.  It’s time to go get myself a whisker-y kiss.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2009 5:16 am

    The most important benefit is that when your spouse kisses your cheek, you taste delicious.

  2. Dyana permalink
    February 8, 2009 1:41 pm

    Why don’t you use those whiskers as your exfoliator? You and Matt can just, I don’t know, rub faces.

  3. jamielauretta permalink*
    February 8, 2009 1:49 pm

    You’re right, Dyana- I should just make him be my man-loofah. I don’t know if he’ll cooperate though.

Trackbacks

  1. Does this Recession Make Me Look Fat? « Bad Housekeeping

Leave a comment